Alberic ID 12055
Work type TMP
Coll. No

From 'Visita' to Diocese to archdiocese: Jaro's journey with the Augustinian through the years.

'Salog, now Jaro, was an Augustinian foundation. The Augustinian chapter of March 3, 1575 accepted the town and placed it under the prior of Ogtong (Oton). The Augustinian chapter of April 25, 1587, erected Jaro as an independent parish, the fifth to be founded in Iloilo. In 1865 the Augustinians handed it over to the diocese as the first seat of the Episcopal See, although the friars continued to stay there until 1868'. Augustinians who served Jaro (1575-1868): 15-17.

Related Persons

Function Name Order Title Birthdate Death Alias
Author José G. Espinosa Jr - - - -


Name Year Vol. Nr Tome Pp. Place Info
Augustinian Legacy 2002 4 - - 7-17 Iloilo -


Geographical order > Asia > Philippines > [Jaro]