Alberic ID 10004
Work type TMP
Coll. No

Excavations and observations on the site of the Dutch Church, Austin Friars, in the City of London.

'During 1950-1951 the late Professor Grimes directed the excavation of the interior of the ruined Dutch Church of Jesus Temple of Austin Friars which had been destroyed by bombing in the 1940. The earliest Romano-British features were gravel pits which were in filled during the mid-2d c. The earliest post-Roman activity was the digging of rubbish pits, which began during the Saxo-Norman period. From ca. 1253 the nave of the Augustinian priory church occupied the site. The foundations of the south arcade of the nave consisted of a series of masonry pier bases. A concluding synthesis links the results of the 1950-1951 excavations to more recent archaeological work in the Austin Friars area' (BHA).

Related Persons

Function Name Order Title Birthdate Death Alias
Author Bruce Watson - - - -


Name Year Vol. Nr Tome Pp. Place Info
Transactions of the London & Middlesex Archaeological Society 1994 45 - - 13-22, 4 ill., 1 carte, 3 plans - -


Geographical order > Europe > England
Geographical order > Europe > England > London
Geographical order > Europe